FTC Blog: How do new users add content?

Dear FTC’ers,

WordPress is a free and useful blog-hosting platform, but it’s not without its challenges.  We are a very new group, so bear with me as I try to figure out this new forum.

Several of our members have written to ask how to post to our blog.  The confusion is natural, given that there are different levels of interaction with the blog, all offering different levels of access.  I thought it might help if I cover the two most common means of interacting with the blog here.

E-Mail Subscription:  An e-mail subscription widget is located on the Home/About Page on the blog, and it is the easiest way to become a SIG member.  You simply enter your e-mail address, and you will receive e-mail updates of blog postings.  However, as I understand it, an e-mail subscription does not allow subscribers to add content (i.e. “post”) to the blog.

FTC Blog Contributor:  In order to add content (post) on the blog, you must create a WordPress account.  You may do this by selecting “Register” from the Home/About Page of our blog, or simply go to https://en.wordpress.com/signup/ and fill out the short registration form.  (NOTE:  Despite appearances, you do NOT have to create a blog of your own; simply select the small hyperlink that reads “Sign up for just a username.”)

When you register, please let me know and I will give you “Contributor” status for the FTC blog.  This will allow you to write, edit, publish and delete your own posts, and upload images with your posts.

I hope that this post clarifies things a bit.  As I said, I’m learning this platform as I go along, so your patience is appreciated.  If anyone out there has WordPress skills, I’d be delighted to have your assistance!

Best,

Sandra Ley (ARLIS FTC SIG Moderator)

sjley@pima.edu

Leave a Reply

