Introducing Carla-Mae Crookendale, the new FTC SIG Moderator

Allow me to introduce the new FTC SIG Moderator for 2015-2016, Carla-Mae Crookendale, Visual Arts Research Librarian at Virginia Commonwealth University!

libguide-profile-pic-1smallCarla-Mae provided exceptional support to the SIG as Vice-Moderator for 2014-2015, so I’m particularly enthusiastic that she’s assumed the position of Moderator for this year.

She’s provided us with a bio so we can get to know her a bit better…

******************

Carla-Mae Crookendale – BIO INTRO

I’ve always loved fashion. As a child, I made outfits for my dolls, and as a teenager I made outfits for myself (still do when I can find the time :). My grandmother was a seamstress and my grandfather a tailor, so I guess you could say it’s in the blood! Planning a life as a designer, I got my BFA in Metals & Jewelry and an MFA in Fashion from the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD). After college I worked as a jewelry and stained glass artist, taught jewelry design at SCAD, and taught costume design and managed the costume shop for the theatre program at Belhaven College.

I enjoyed my creative career, but was looking for a bit more stability, so I went back to school to become a librarian. I was already a library nerd, I was drawn to the history and research aspects of fashion, and I wanted to do something that could incorporate my art background. Also, my mother was a librarian, so I guess you could say it‘s also in the blood! My first ARLIS conference in Boston while I was working on my MLIS confirmed that it was the right decision – art librarians were my people. I was a Reference Librarian at SCAD’s Jen Library in Savannah before moving to Richmond this past fall. I am now the Visual Arts Research Librarian at Virginia Commonwealth University. Over the course of the next year, I look forward to sharing what I learn about fashion on my campus and in my community with the FTC SIG, and to hearing from all of you as well!

**************

Thank you for your service to the SIG, Carla-Mae!

Sandra Ley, PCC Librarian & FTC SIG Founder

sjley@pima.edu

One thought on “Introducing Carla-Mae Crookendale, the new FTC SIG Moderator

  1. Hi , I am taking a class of students to Berlin this summer – all of June & July. “Berlin Head to Toe” is the name of the course.  It is a combination of Product Design, Graphic, Illustration and Interaction Design students from Art Center College of Design.  We will be working through a studio space in the Bikini building, near the zoo.   Do you have any contacts in Berlin we could make use of for project research?   thanks Justine Parish jparish@artcenter.edu 626-673-9842  

Leave a Reply

