Business of Fashion (BoF) soon a subscription resource…

Greetings everyone,

As you may know, BoF will soon start charging for access.  (Messages on this topic have appeared on lately ARLIS-L.)

Reviewing the BoF website, I found that there’s no information about institutional subscriptions and EDU pricing.  I’ve sent an e-mail inquiring about both.

My students, faculty, and I have relied on WWD for fashion trade information.  Considering my institution and our budget situation, it’s unlikely I can justify another fashion trade resource.

I’d like to know about your institutions’ libraries and your plans.  Is this a resource you consider important?  What elements do you find via BoF that you can’t find within your existing resources?  What are your preferred fashion trade sources?

Thank you in advance for any direction and advice you can offer!

Sandra Ley, Pima Community College

2 thoughts on “Business of Fashion (BoF) soon a subscription resource…

  1. Out of interest- I have been heavily promoting the free student account option, and many of our students (and staff!) have been taking advantage of it, however I now realize we’re in a slightly difficult situation as our students rightly expect that we can troubleshoot access issues for them (as we would for our standard e-resources), but actually there’s very little I can do to help as we have no subscription package or BoF rep to go to.

    No response expected but I am interested in hearing if anyone has had much luck contacting them for help? I’ve had no responses so far from any of my queries although I’m sure they’re being inundated…

Leave a Reply

